AI video editing

DaVinci Resolve

Edit, color, and finish on Mac, Windows, and Linux.

Visit website
DaVinci Resolve — official website screenshot
Official website screenshotView full image ↗

What it does

DaVinci Resolve is Blackmagic Design’s desktop post-production app. The product page offers a free download and lists Resolve Studio at $236 beside the buy button. Resolve 21 on that page adds a Photo page plus AI tools including IntelliSearch, CineFocus, and facial refinement, alongside Cut, Edit, Fusion, Color, and Fairlight. A calendar date for the final 21 release was not on the page, so this profile does not state one.

Where it fits

Download the free app for your operating system, edit and grade a short section, then compare Studio if you need the paid finishing and AI features.

Pricing & free tier

The product page offers DaVinci Resolve as a free download and lists DaVinci Resolve Studio at $236 next to the buy button. A dated final-release note for version 21 was not on that page.

The free download is the full Resolve app. Studio is the paid upgrade at the price shown on the product page.

Prices checked . Official pricing page

Inputs, outputs & formats

In. Camera and editorial media on the Cut, Edit, Fusion, Color, and Fairlight pages, plus stills on the Photo page in Resolve 21.

Out. A finished timeline, grade, VFX comp, or mix.

Formats. The page describes professional editorial, color, Fusion, and Fairlight workflows rather than a short extension list.

Getting started

  1. 1Download the free app from the Blackmagic product page for your OS.
  2. 2Edit and grade a short section before you commit a full timeline.
  3. 3Compare the free app with Studio if you need the paid AI and finishing features.

Limits & gotchas

  • The $236 Studio price is what the product page showed; Blackmagic’s site notes that MSRP excludes sales tax and shipping.
  • An official calendar date for the final Resolve 21 release was not on the product page we read, so this profile does not state one.
  • This is a large desktop install, not a lightweight social editor.

Before you commit

The $236 Studio figure is the product-page price and excludes tax and shipping. This is a large install, not a phone editor.

Sources & editorial notes

This profile summarizes public product information and adds workflow guidance. It is not a hands-on performance review. Check the official website for current prices, limits, and availability.

Source check:

Keep exploring

0/3 Compare tools